EDGOC Final Update

The European Deaf Golf Open Championships (EDGOC) has come to a close with Paul Waring of England winning the Men’s Championship! Andreas Nilsson of Sweden jumped from 6th place to 2nd by shooting 73 in the final round. Hans Elgaard of Denmark was placed third overall. Andrea Hjellegjerde of Norway was placed fourth overall.

Andrea watches Paul putt at the final hole (photo by Anders Hillding):


The final group thanks each other for the game (photo by Anders Hillding):


The Men’s top three players; Andreas Nilsson (SWE) on left, Paul Waring (ENG) centre, and Hans Elgaard (DEN) on the right (photo by Anders Hillding):


Andrea Hjellegjerde of Norway, 4th place finisher, who also was congratulated for scoring a hole in one on the 8th hole in the final round:


In the Men’s team competition, the England A Team won the the championship in the amazing final round based on count-back the fourth player’s total score on the each team. A count-back is a tie-breaker based on a hole by hole score by each player of each team and is reviewed which player has the lowest hole score to win the tie-breaker. The scoring system is not the same as the WDGF; the competition is based on the best of three totals out of four players. In the 2013 EDGOC, the tie-breaker is based on the fourth player’s best score. In spite of Nilsson’s strong comeback with a 73 that enabled the Swedish team tie with the English team, the Sweden A Team earned a well-deserving second place. The Danish team finished third ahead of the England B Team.

From left to right: Sweden A Team, England A Team, and Denmark Team (photo by Anders Hillding):


In the Stableford competitions, Johanna Mesch of Sweden won the ladies’ championship and Arne Karlsnes of Norway won the men’s championship.

Ladies’ Stableford Championship; from left: Bridgette Winkler-Vorweg (GER), Johanna Mesch (SWE), and Irma Uusimäki (FIN). (photo by Anders Hillding):


Men’s Stableford Championship; starting from left: Heikki Pekki (FIN), Arne Karlsnes (NOR), and Sami Vuoriheimo (FIN). (photo by Anders Hillding):


The European Deaf Golf Open Championships will be hosted three more times in the next 6 years:

4th EDGOC – 2015 – Norway
5th EDGOC – 2017 – England
6th EDGOC – 2019 – Sweden

The WDGF Board would like to wish sincerest congratulations to all of the 2013 Euro Deaf Open winners and the Finnish Organizing Committee for their excellent hosting.

**Corrections were made after a final verification from Anders Hillding – apologies for confusion this may have caused for the readers. – Arista Haas